Why I Love Romance [Novels]

19 Jan

I know what you’re probably thinking so let me stop you before your mind inevitably wanders into the gutter.  My affinity for the genre does not stem from my inability to keep from swooning over the Fabio-esq men who typically adorn the covers of Romance Novels.  As a matter of fact, photos of the “characters” on the covers of those books are the only reason I hate romance novels.

Physical qualities that people consider attractive are too subjective.  Let’s say the text describes the man in the story as burly with piercing blue eyes and blonde hair; if the reader isn’t into blondes then I’ll bet the character that lives in her imagination does not have golden locks.  Even as someone with a relatively inventive imagination, I find it difficult to envision the “hero” depicted on the front cover if I do not find barely contained rippling muscles and a stubbled, strong-jawed face attractive. 

But this post is about why I love the genre, so in regards to the aforementioned rant, I digress.

I love the entire romance genre for the same reason people willingly purchase tickets to see the countless number of romantic comedies Hollywood cranks out year after year: I love “happily ever afters.”

Life is so volatile that I need a bit of corny predictability infused in my favorite pastime.  It doesn’t matter what feud has occurred, what lies were told, what miscommunications the characters have endured, by the final page the hero and heroine will always be together. 

While I read and enjoy books with endings that are not always expected, my mind tends to obsess over all of the possible outcomes.  Each twist and turn takes away a bit of the simple enjoyment of getting lost in someone else’s imaginary world.   The control freak in me needs to know what is going to happen.

So that is why you will forever find stacks of paperbacks in my closet, underneath my bed, in shoeboxes in my basement and, occasionally, on my bookshelf.  Life doesn’t always end up happy—but romance novels do. 

-Jenny

(PS. Make sure you check back tomorrow for the next installment of Mirrors at Barnard Hall!  Haven’t read it yet?  Start Here)

Leave a Reply

