I Ate My Heart

1 Feb

This past week, a friend of mine told me the following Billy Graham quote: “Give me five minutes with a person’s checkbook, and I will tell you where their heart is.”

Rev. Graham wouldn’t need more than a glimpse of my bank statement to know where my heart was.  That vital organ was no longer beating in my chest… I had eaten it.

I’m ashamed to admit that between January 20th and 29th, I had eaten out at least one meal per day.  How ironic that, when he had told me this quote, we were on our way to a restaurant for dinner.  Heck, both of my posts this week have been food-related.  Even as I sit down to write this there is a half-eaten Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Blizzard abandoned on the faux granite countertop. 

The problem isn’t with me though, it’s with Nashville.  Never have I lived in a place with a limitless supply of quality non-chain restaurants.  Last month I picked up a booklet listing “Nashville’s Essential Eateries” and I’ve only been to one of the forty-five listed… ONE.  And I go out to eat a lot.  (Exhibit A: http://www.nashvilleoriginals.com)

These places serve heaping portions of southern hospitality, slating patrons’ hunger and assisting with their hand-to-mouth syndrome.  Before moving south, I had never even heard of a “meat and three.”  Now M&3 is a critical part of my weekly menu.  And why not?  It’s only February; the season of skimpy seems too far in the distance to cause any distress for Tennesseans—myself included. 

In stark contrast to my gluttonous week was Sunday’s sermon.  Our preacher spoke about fasting. 

Had he been spying on us the night before, creeping outside the windows of Luna Nashville as my friends and I ordered every appetizer on the menu?  (Note: This had not been my idea… but then again, I hadn’t objected either) 

The point of the sermon was about taking something that makes you comfortable, that you enjoy, and removing it in order to serve a higher purpose. 

Just think of all the money I could save if I didn’t go out to eat and feel the need to leave healthy tips (a common side-effect of previous waitressing experience).  What about all the spare time I’d have if I didn’t have to mull over restaurant/appetizer/entrée/dessert choices or wait for someone else to bring my food? 

Would I use the cash increase to fatten my savings account instead of my waistline?  More importantly, would I use the free time to do other things I love? 

 I know where my heart lies—it’s in my stomach.  How about yours?

 

REMEMBER, the next installment of The Mirrors at Barnard Hall goes up on Friday, February 3rd.  I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait!  Click HERE to start at Chapter 1.

2 Responses to “I Ate My Heart”

  1. Levi Brandenburg February 1, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Completely agree! It’s just so hard to say no to all of the amazing deliciousness in Nashvegas!

  2. Katherine Browning February 1, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    That’s one of the ways I lost 30 lbs, not going out to eat. But cooking is time-consuming so you might save money but don’t count on saving time.

Leave a Reply

