Dirty Words

6 Feb

Some of you probably clicked on this post simply to appease your curiosity over what dirty words I will be discussing.  For those of you looking for a new explicative to use when drunk next Saturday night, prepare to be disappointed.  However, for the unpublished writers out there, you might find some solace in today’s rant.  Today’s dirty word is: Self-publishing.

Until recently I had been against the idea of DIY publishing.  There is comfort and reassurance in the traditional route; someone else thinks what you’ve created is worth the investment of their time and money.  The entire process is validating for an author. 

However, the associated subjectivity was just frustrating enough for me to take alternatives into consideration. 

With no more than a form rejection letter in hand, how is a writer supposed to improve and move forward toward publication?  Perhaps that agent just read a query letter with a similar storyline (that was not as good as yours, of course) and simply cannot accept another western-themed manuscript.  Maybe an agent’s inbox is so overwhelming that he only reads queries sent every other Tuesday between the hours of noon and three pm (and you clicked “send” on Friday at six). 

But there’s a nasty and, more often than not, accurate stigma attached to self-published works: those projects did not meet the rigorous industry standards so the stubborn author decided to do it herself. 

That stigma was the main reason I had been bent on struggling down the customary path.   

Then I had a revelation: with self-publishing, the author has control over everything associated with the product—including the quality. 

If a book is going to include my name on the cover, it will be comparable to (if not better than) any other book on the market.

With that in mind, I had to decide what was more important to me: the method or the end result.  I could continue querying in an effort to convince agents that my work was worth the risk and say a prayer that the agent would have luck finding a publisher and then maybe, eventually, see something of mine in print. 

Or I could do it myself.

What was the point of writing if no one is going to get a chance to read what I’ve slaved over for months years?

2 Responses to “Dirty Words”

  1. tricia linden February 7, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    I was once accepted by a Trad publisher. They said they liked my story and then they asked me to change in such a way that it would have changed the whole meaning I had placed on the work. I respectfully said no thank you and moved on to self-pub. Yes, it is the best way to be sure that what you publish is actually what you want to publish. And you are responsible for the quality control. Responsable control = the ability to respond with control. Enjoy always, T

    • movingforeword February 9, 2012 at 7:43 am #

      This post gives me even more confidence in this whole process 🙂 Thanks, Tricia!

Leave a Reply

