Sacrifice for a Dream

13 Feb

Last night I was one of the few individuals who did not watch the Grammys.  Live coverage from the awards show blasted from my roommate’s bedroom while I sat at our kitchen table and prayed for divine intervention to provide me with a topic for today’s post. 

Then I was blessed with an epiphany. 

When my sister decided to forego unemployment for a steady paycheck and move to Kentucky, she took half of my clothes with her (She will argue that those clothes were hers, a fact I can neither confirm nor deny).  This weekend, the light in my closet burned out, making the state of my depleted wardrobe even more terrifying. 

Saturday morning I was plagued with the familiar itch to spend money on clothes.  What made a bout of retail therapy harder to resist was that, even though the temperature was barely cresting above thirty degrees, every store in the mall has had their spring line out for weeks. 

Also, I had checked my bank account to find the typically meager funds had increased because the government had deposited the money I had loaned them (interest-free, mind you) in 2011.    

Was the timing of these two seemingly random events a coincidence or were the stars aligning so that I could literally shop until I could no longer find the energy to swipe my debit card and enter my PIN?

Although I would love to say that the latter is true, in the back of my mind I knew the bulk of that refund money was going to pay my editor for services rendered. 

(SIGH) The sacrifices we make for our dreams.

But if I’m honest, can I really consider fewer shoes and drab clothes with sleeves a sacrifice?  Am I actually giving anything up in order to pursue my dream of self-publishing? 

The answer is a resounding no. 

How can I say that I am making any sacrifices when I am simply reallocating my resources—time and money—toward something infinitely more rewarding than a new pair of jeans?  So what if I have to wait a little longer to buy that six-foot mirror to fill the void on my dining room wall?  Who cares if I can’t go out to eat seven days a week? 

I’m going to be published.

5 Responses to “Sacrifice for a Dream”

  1. Levi Brandenburg February 13, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    I know that’s right! I cannot wait to have my signed copy! 😉 It has to be signed Jenny McSnack, BTW.

  2. Kelly Cautillo February 14, 2012 at 4:04 am #

    Me and my mum are like that – despite me living quite some distance from her, she still somehow manages to acquire items that I know belong to me but she swears blind I gave her. I’m doubting that *new* scarf was gifted when I only wore it once… but that’s besides the point.

    As much as I love having new clothes, I hate shopping for them so I often just manage without unless I really have to fill the gaps from damaged/worn thin items. It’s books and dvds that are my vice, though I could argue they’re for research (and I often do).

    • movingforeword February 15, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

      DVDs and purchases on iTunes are just a few other things I “invest” in. 🙂 Research, huh? I like that excuse!

      • Kelly Cautillo February 17, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

        Oh yes. I love the excuse also. I particularly like the fact that when I get worried looks for reading books on poisons and their uses, murderers, cults, weapons, etc; I actually have a very good excuse to hand. “Just because I feel like it” doesn’t really work for most people.

Leave a Reply

