Listen to Nike

20 Feb

Yesterday I had the opportunity to Skype with my older sister and her daughter.  I was enthralled by the fact that my 20-month-old niece is a genius (No matter how intelligent your kid/niece/nephew is, my niece is infinitely smarter).  I was able to hold a conversation with her—one that lasted as long as her fairly short attention-span (an early-warning sign of an IQ that is off the charts). 

My sister briefly mentioned wanting another baby, and I adamantly agreed.  The first time couldn’t have turned out better, why not go 2 for 2? 

But then the topic steered toward financial instability and the fact that the funding for daycare they currently receive was slated to be cut from the county’s budget. 

I found myself responding the same way my mom does, “You’re never going to be ready.  There’s never a perfect time for kids.”

That got the wheels in my head turning: is there ever a perfect time for anything?

The answer is a simple, resounding NO.

Marriage proposals, an extra kid, the first kid, a career change, the big move, making your dream a reality… These are all things we find ourselves waiting for. 

Newsflash, procrastinators: The stars aren’t going to align; there isn’t going to be ghostly hand writing on the wall, telling you that you’re supposed to start now and that it is going to be simple.

Just do it.

I firmly believe that, if it is supposed to happen, it will.  You’re not going to thwart the destiny that has been set for you by doing what you think you’re supposed to do.  Despite popular belief, you don’t have that kind of power.

Don’t you want to be able to look back on your life and say with confidence that you gave it your best shot—whatever it is?

You might not have the money for another kid, but were you really financially ready for the first one? 

If you weren’t supposed to go to Australia, would you have been approved for a work visa in ten hours?

Would you have been given a remarkable voice if you weren’t supposed to sing?

I might not make the New York Time’s Best Sellers list, but I’m going to try.

You’ll never win the lottery if you don’t play.

 Try Nike’s approach.

-Jenny

7 Responses to “Listen to Nike”

  1. Tammy Jones Thomas February 20, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    Love it! So true! JUST DO IT!

  2. Libby February 20, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    Beautifully said!!! So when is the stand up night for you? Just Do It!

    • movingforeword February 20, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      Haha, no stand up scheduled but I’ll keep you updated 🙂

  3. Katherine Browning February 20, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    Jenny, If I had planned on having a child I probably never would have had one.
    Amy was definitely unplanned. But I planned the rest of my lifr, my business, my retirement. I was supposed to be retired now so I could be with my grandchildren. But if the person you share your life with decides not to be part of your plans everything changes.
    There is another saying ” Cast your plans in sand and your goals in concrete”

  4. Kelly Cautillo February 21, 2012 at 5:20 am #

    hallo you. Just thought I’d let you know that you have been nominated for the Liebster award in my blog 😀 http://kellycautillo.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/liebster-blog-award-accepting-spreading-the-karma/

Leave a Reply

