Belated Retort

22 Feb

As the bulk of our communication with one another transfers to avenues like Facebook, Twitter and texting, we have the opportunity to reflect on our words before we post/reply.  Not everyone chooses to capitalize on this, but those of us who do are able to invest in making ourselves sound cleverer and more profound than we really are.

But does this opportunity to be witty and philosophical count toward our own intelligence if we can’t do the same in casual conversation? 

I tend to stew over exchanges I’ve had, belatedly thinking of numerous retorts that would have been more suitable than those I had previously chosen.  Sometimes I hit the mark on the first go-around, typically by employing a healthy dose of sarcasm; however, if I had the ability to take a red pen to my own dialogue I could come across as the smartest, wittiest person on the face of the planet.

I hold truly clever individuals, those who can deliver a comeback in the flash of a second, in the highest esteem.  These folks aren’t necessarily the most intelligent but I’d rather converse with a witty person than an overly intellectual one.

Some of the sharpest people in my acquaintance are the Irish.  When I lived on the Emerald Isle (twice), I learned that very little is held sacred when it comes to witty retorts.  It’s more of a sin to hold your tongue than to shoot back a great, albeit offensive, one-liner.

I’m convinced that this inherent ability comes from the incessant rain, forcing locals inside stale pubs and in close proximity to one another.  The result?  Banter.

For the remainder of the week, I’m going to be writing dialogue that heavily relies on banter to carry the conversation.  What I come up with may not make it into a book, but it’ll be a fun exercise.  Who knows?  Maybe one of my witty retorts will find its way into a tweet or status update via FB.

-Jenny

 

There are only a couple of days left until the next installment of The Mirrors at Barnard Hall is posted!  Excited?  Me too.  Not sure what I’m talking about?  Click HERE to start reading from the beginning. 

If you’re reading this and you haven’t signed up to stalk this blog via e-mail, you probably should.  Click on the: Follow this Blog via Email button (obvious, huh?) to the right of your screen and sign up to receive posting updates!

One Response to “Belated Retort”

  1. tricia linden February 22, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    I’d rather converse with a witty person than an overly intellectual one.
    Agreed….. T

Leave a Reply

