Define Success

27 Feb

Last Thursday, my roommate performed two original songs at her first open mic night on a Nashville stage.  Before she owned the room, the night’s MC took a moment to promote a new website that lists open mic and singer-songwriter events around Nashville.  The site includes venues, calendars and FAQ’s, serving as a resource for aspiring and existing artists. 

Apparently, one of the most frequently asked questions is about who has performed on-stage at that particular venue and made it. The man challenged all artists present to email him and let him know their definition of, “making it.” 

In today’s post, I’m posing the same question to you:

How do you define success?

Do you even know?  If not, I suggest you invest some time in defining the word for yourself.  Otherwise, how do you gauge whether or not you are successful?

For me, success means people are reading my work.  I’ve grown enough as an artist to realize that not everyone is going to like what I’ve written.  However, I want to expose an audience to my stories so that they have the opportunity to formulate an opinion. 

So, technically I’m already a success (That is, unless my mom has created dozens of fake email addresses to “follow” my blog and has pressed “refresh” hundreds of times on each of the pages to make it seem as though my readership is increasing). 

Now what?  Do I just stop and bask in the feelings of accomplishment?  Or should the definition of success be considered a working document, forever changing and adapting to new goals? 

I’m going to go with the latter.

So, today I leave you with my definition as of February 27, 2012:

When something I’ve written is in print and on sale to the general public, then I will be a success.

-Jenny

2 Responses to “Define Success”

  1. Annie February 29, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    Success is a moving target, a feeling of accomplishment when you’ve completed something you’re proud of. Don’t put it out of reach or you’ll miss the success you’ve already obtained. Pass that on to your “roommate.” I remember when she was too scared to sing loudly, much less rock a room with an original song. Wish I could have been there. (Or a campgroupd… ask her about the strangers cheering the first time they heard “magic spells!”) You both are doing yourselves proud in Nashville!

    • movingforeword February 29, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

      Thanks, Annie! The roommate says the same! We’re planning on continuing to stir things up here in TN!

Leave a Reply

