Time Traveller

12 Mar

This past weekend I did a little more time travelling than the rest of the world.  Friday afternoon I made a trip to the future—from Central Standard Time to Eastern Standard Time. 

Although technically I visited one-hour in the future, it felt more like a trip to the past.  I spent the bulk of my time entertaining my 21-month-old niece—or, more aptly, she entertained me.  Before this weekend, I couldn’t tell you the last time I sat on a swing or slid down a slide. 

At night, my sisters, my mother and I sat on the bed and read with my niece.  I commend my older sister for including reading in her daughter’s nightly routine.  Seeing the pure joy on her innocent face as she thoroughly enjoyed One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish reminded me how much I love reading—and writing.  It also brought to light the fact that lately I have been too busy to do both.

Why is it so hard to find the time to do the things we love?  In the course of a day, I have specific times allotted for just about everything that needs done.  But happiness is just as more important than clean socks and vacuumed rugs, right? 

If so, why don’t I have any time to write? 

By the time I get home from work I’m so worn out that even sitting in front of the television is too much effort.  I know that I’d feel infinitely better if I would have spent some time doing something I enjoy, something productive and important.  My weekends are filled with the menial tasks that I had been too lazy to complete during the week or events that leave me yearning for an additional day to cure the resulting exhaustion.

Now that spring is upon us, we’ve been given an extra hour of daylight to fill with more distractions.  As for me, I’m planning on using those 60 minutes to do what I love: reading, writing… and maybe even swinging on a swing set.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Over the weekend my Kickstarter project reached the halfway mark!  Please take some time to check out my page and consider making a pledge to help me self-publish my novel.  Every dollar puts us closer to the goal of $4,000 by March 30!

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/jennyhickman/the-mirrors-at-barnard-hall-an-epic-love-story

 

2 Responses to “Time Traveller”

  1. crubin March 12, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    It always amazes me that although writing is what I want to do, I manage to fill my day with so many other things, leaving my work-in-progress on the back burner. Nice to know I am not the only one. 🙂

    • movingforeword March 12, 2012 at 9:51 am #

      You are definitely not alone! However, the first step to finding a solution is recognizing the problem. If you come up with a way to combat this, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

