Six-Sentence Sunday: Easter Edition

8 Apr

I first found out about Six-Sentence Sunday via Ursula Grey’s blog .  Basically, the idea is to post six sentences from a story you have written or are currently working on.  I was intrigued by this exercise and decided it would be the perfect avenue to introduce my readers to some of the other projects I’ve been working on in the years since The Mirrors at Barnard Hall. 

While reviewing text for six viable, intriguing, consecutive sentences, I quickly realized that six sentences are a mere morsel, a taste.  They don’t provide enough meat to fulfill or sustain but instead, invigorate a reader’s hunger for words.

Here is a six-sentence excerpt from the third book I wrote entitled Semester of Thursdays.

A loud knocking vibrated our front door, drawing me from a restless sleep and dragging me out of my warm bed.  Leave it to my roommate to forget her keys on one of the last nights together.  At least I didn’t have to set my alarm for work in the morning.  The impatient pounding came again, louder this time, more urgent.  I tugged on my sweatshirt and sweat pants just in case she had decided to bring Alec with her.  I grumbled as I unlocked the deadbolt and flung open the door, stifling a scream when I saw who was on the other side.

Click for more information or to sign up for Six Sunday.

10 Responses to “Six-Sentence Sunday: Easter Edition”

  1. Ursula Grey April 8, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    So glad you’ve decided to participate in Six Sunday, Jenny:-) That’s an intriguing six ~ powerful last sentence! Wonder who is behind the door…Nicely done:-)

    • movingforeword April 8, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

      Thank you, Ursula! I’m so excited that I stumbled upon this fun exercise on your blog 🙂

  2. Jo-Ann Carson April 8, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    I really want to know who’s out there. Well done.

  3. Elin Gregory April 8, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    You set up a lot of tension in that little teaser. Very nice.

    • movingforeword April 8, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

      Thanks, Elin. It took a lot of editing to get those six just right!

  4. Donna Cummings April 9, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    This is great! I love how it started out as more of an inconvenience to the narrator, but ended up with a “what the hell just happened?” hook. Very nice. 🙂

    • movingforeword April 10, 2012 at 9:10 am #

      Thank you, Donna! It was a lot of fun to write that scene.

  5. Wildcat's Wife April 10, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Tease! Very good six. Full of suspense. I really want to know who was on the other side of door. Dang.

    • movingforeword April 10, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

      I like knowing I’ve left a reader wanting more 🙂 Thanks for checking out my six.

Leave a Reply

