Getting in the Mood

10 Apr

How do you get in the mood… to write?

For the better part of forever, I’ve been trapped in an endless limbo (also known as the editing phase).  A few weeks ago, I struggled to get back into the swing of writing, determined to churn out some fresh literary brilliance.

But hovering over my glass-topped kitchen table just wasn’t putting me in the mood to write.  In a last-ditch effort to salvage the session, I decided to re-create the setting in which I had previously felt the most productive.

Back at my parent’s home, I had written in the living room; when I moved out, there was a Jenny-shaped indentation on the plush couch cushions.  So, I plopped on my couch and surrounded myself with blank pages, hoping to fill them by days end.

However, the pen I was using made it feel like I was forcefully etching words into a stone tablet.  This led me on a hunt for a suitable writing instrument in a vast desert of #2 pencils, Sharpies, dried-up ink cartridges and cheap, non-clicky-top ballpoints.  Luckily, I located the lone gel pen in my apartment—one that left me painting the words in my mind on a college-ruled canvas, crafting the world’s next best-seller (obviously).

Fifteen minutes later I realized something was still missing in the equation.  The ambiance I had created was too… quiet.

To remedy this, I found my charged iPod, put on something depressing (which fit the tone of the chapters I was preparing to conjure), jacked up the volume, and became a catalyst for the story inside of my head.

A couch + a click-top gel pen + loud music = Jenny writing

What do you need in order to set the stage for maximum creativity?

2 Responses to “Getting in the Mood”

  1. tricia linden April 12, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    I’m a BIG fan of a comfy sofa, a great pen, (gel or otherwise) and get writing, but I have to leave off the music. To each their own. Hope you’re having a grand time. T

    • movingforeword April 13, 2012 at 11:21 am #

      I’m having the time of my life, Tricia! This self-publishing and writing stuff is tough and stressful but incredibly rewarding

Leave a Reply

