Six Sentence: Dos #sixsunday

14 Apr

Welcome to my second Six-Sunday post!  Basically, the idea is to post six sentences from a story you’ve written or a current work-in-progress (WIP).  Here is an excerpt from my WIP entitled, Semester of Thursdays.  The story focuses on the relationship between best friends Meredith Westbrook and Lena Whyte, and humorously compares a failing relationship to the “glories” of singledom.

“Why do you suppose we’re not engaged?”

It was meant as a rhetorical question but Lena had an answer.  She didn’t even have the decency to hesitate with her response.  “Because we date hot guys.”

An embarrassed chuckle escaped my unsurprised lips.  It was a good thing we were alone; if outsiders could hear most of our private conversations they’d think us caddy—or call us another five-letter word.

Click HERE for more information on SSS, to read other SSS posts from authors who are better writers, or to sign up for Six Sunday.

Check out some of my favorite’s from my Sunday-morning read: Wildcat’s Wife (a hilarious six), Ursula Gray (a scandalous six),  Karla Doyle (a Scrabble six), Ceri Herbert (a tense six), Cara Bristol (a vampire six), and Donna Cummings (a swooning six).

20 Responses to “Six Sentence: Dos #sixsunday”

  1. A.S. Fenichel April 15, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    Cute six! They both sound like girls I want to hear more from. Nice job!

    • movingforeword April 15, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

      Thank you! Don’t worry, those girls have plenty more to say 🙂

  2. Cara Bristol April 15, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    Really interesting, intriguing six. The implication is that they haven’t “settled” by getting engaged, but it could also mean that “hot guys” don’t want to want to marry. If they didn’t date hot guys, maybe they could get engaged! I love the title, A Semester of Thursdays. It automatically raises the question in my mind, what happens on Thursday, which makes me want to know more.

    And, thank you for mention of my Six Sunday post.

    • movingforeword April 15, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

      Thank you, Cara! Hopefully the shout-out will help drive more traffic to your six because I know I really enjoyed them!

  3. Lea April 15, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    Nice six Jennifer!

  4. Wildcat's Wife April 15, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    “Because we date hot guys.” OMG! LOL. (Can I have that problem?) Kidding. I’m an old married fart and cynical. Looking forward to reading more of these two fine ladies.

    • movingforeword April 15, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

      I know, right? I get to live an ideal existence through my characters!

  5. Monica Enderle Pierce April 15, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    You made me lol with that “hot guys” line. I hope these two learn to enjoy their single days. So many women don’t and waste a lot of energy.

    • movingforeword April 15, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      Don’t worry, Monica! This pair thoroughly enjoys singledom for nearly 75,000 words 🙂

  6. Jo-Ann Carson April 15, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    I like the easy female connection you set up in so few words. Great six!

  7. Ursula Grey April 15, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    Great six, Jenny. Nice conversational flow, content that makes you want to know more about these two;-) Also,love the title of this WIP! Thanks for the mention:-)

  8. Donna Cummings April 15, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    I wanna hang out with these girls! (And not just so I can see the hot guys. LOL) This is a fun six–can’t wait to see more of their conversations. And thanks for adding me in the “swooning six” category. 🙂

    • movingforeword April 15, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

      Thanks, Donna. And your six def. deserved to be in the swooning category. I might dream of the male lead tonight 😉

  9. Lorraine Paton April 15, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Cute six! 🙂

  10. Ileandra Young April 17, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    Hehe, I have conversations exactly like that with my girl friends. 🙂 Great six.

    • movingforeword April 17, 2012 at 10:54 am #

      Thank you, Ileandra! I love knowing I’m not the only one who thinks like this! 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

