Dysfunctional Readers

16 Apr

My writing won’t be successful unless my readers are unable to function in society mid-read. 

Case in point:

Easter weekend my roommate started the first book in a trilogy that, in light of a recent movie release under the same title, has gripped readers and audiences across the world.  She voraciously devoured the text in what little spare time she had between travelling and visiting with friends. 

Because of the holiday, we hadn’t seen each other in five days.  Tuesday we had plans to meet for dinner and a concert.  I was running late; she told me that she was content to wait in the car… and read.

When I escaped my cube, I honestly thought she was going to make me wait in the silence of her vehicle while she finished the chapter.  Fortunately for my growling stomach, she reluctantly inserted her bookmark and threw the paperback in her purse—as though she thought she was going to be able to sneak in a few sentences during dinner or the concert.  We didn’t get home until after eleven that night, about two hours past our school-night bedtime (darn day jobs).  Despite the late hour, I knew the light glowing beneath her door wouldn’t go out until she had finished the book. 

There are a few books that come to mind that have incited a similar level of enthusiasm for the written word.  Stories where readers become so engrossed in the plot that interrupters need to be prepared for irrational, angry, and inattentive responses.  If disrupted while mid-story, forced to do something that requires social interaction, the reader’s mind is never quite focused on the present.  Instead, the scenes are left churning in her head, the characters yearning to know their fate. 

I aspire to write a book like that, one laced with cocaine text.  I want my readers to be so preoccupied with and addicted to my story that they can’t function until they have finished the final chapter.

5 Responses to “Dysfunctional Readers”

  1. Katherine Browning April 17, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    You’ve got a good start!

    • movingforeword April 18, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

      I’m flattered 🙂 I hope I can keep everyone’s attention through the final page!

  2. Mollie Player April 18, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    I love your writing! Very cute style (I mean that as a compliment!). Future success to you, my friend!

    • movingforeword April 19, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

      Thanks, Mollie! I appreciate the kind words. Glad you stopped by.

      • Mollie Player April 20, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

        No problem!

Leave a Reply

