Embrace the Feedback

25 Apr

In light of the upcoming release of my debut novel, The Mirrors at Barnard Hall, I thought I’d touch on the topic of feedback.  Here is a short list comprised of what I’ve learned so far on self-publishing journey.

1.)    If you can’t handle criticism, don’t let anyone read what you’ve written.  But then again, what was the point of writing if no one is ever going to read it?

2.)    Before you put your book/music/art into the world, come to terms with this simple fact: Not everyone is going to like what you’ve created.

3.)    Everyone’s My initial reaction to negative feedback is to return the comment with an equally harsh retort and push blindly forward.  However, my advice to you is this: if someone has taken the time to respond, then his/her opinions should at least be considered.  Avoid replying directly until you’ve taken the time to consider the potential improvements that could be derived from that person’s advice.  (And, if they are just being negative for fun, then employ the aforementioned retort)

4.)    Take the positive feedback you receive in stride; remember those bolstering words when your confidence slips and you find yourself wondering: What the heck am I doing?

 

4 Responses to “Embrace the Feedback”

  1. hannahkarena April 25, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    I love that picture!

    • movingforeword April 25, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      I know! To be honest, that’s my favorite part of today’s post! 🙂

  2. ameliaclaire92 April 25, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    Love this. Great tips!

    • movingforeword April 25, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      Thank you! I’m constantly learning and figured I’d share what little knowledge I have with the rest of the blogging community. Appreciate you stopping by.

Leave a Reply

