SSS: May 6 #sixsunday

5 May

Welcome, everyone!  Another glorious Sunday is upon us and I’m honored that you felt compelled to check out my six.  Today I’m providing you with six more sentences from my WIP entitled Semester of ThursdaysThis tidbit is from the first Thursday night that Meredith Westbrook, the narrator, accompanies Lena Whyte. I hope you enjoy!

I no longer noticed the way people looked at us when Lena and I entered a room.  Now I use the term “us” simply because I was present.  What I really meant was Lena then me.  To the vast majority of Thursday-nighters, I was just “the one with the gorgeous blonde.”

Everyone in the bar obviously wondered what I had done to be allowed to stand next to perfection incarnate.  Of course, if they knew the saint I was for enduring Lena’s antics for the duration of our friendship, they would agree that I deserved the coveted position at her right hand.

Interested in participating in Six Sentence Sunday?  Check out the official Six Sunday website, sign up, and post your sentences next week!

Here are a few of my favorites from 5/6: Karla Doyle (Yet Another Scrabble Six); Layna Pimentel (a Historical Six); Donna Cummings (a Highwayman Six); Ruthie Knox (a Grin-Inducing Six); Stephanie Dray (a Nile Six); Lee Ann Ward (a First Six); Jacey Faye (a #210 Six)

19 Responses to “SSS: May 6 #sixsunday”

  1. Kylie Scott May 5, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

    Terrific 6. Your voice is great in this. Looking forward to seeing where it’s going.

  2. Alix Cameron May 5, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    Oh! The self loathing, he needs a cuddle! Evocative writing, great six.

  3. Wildcat's Wife May 6, 2012 at 12:14 am #

    I have this gut hunch that their friendship is about to take a harsh turn.

    • movingforeword May 6, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      *Insert evil laugh 😉

      • Wildcat's Wife May 6, 2012 at 9:26 am #

        Yeah!! LOL

  4. Lee Ann Ward May 6, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    Wow, Jenny! Thanks for the fabulous welcome to Six Sunday! I’m honored 🙂 And, your six sentences are totally “Whoa!” worthy. I’ll be keeping up with you for sure. Your voice is spot on. Well done!

    • movingforeword May 6, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

      Thanks so much, Lee Ann! I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  5. Angela Quarles May 6, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    Nice insight into the character’s thoughts going into this…

    • movingforeword May 6, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

      Thank you so much, Angela. It really sets up the “scene”

  6. Monica Enderle Pierce May 6, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Oh, I just want to shake her. She *has* to know she’s better than that, right?

  7. gzidar May 6, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    Something is definitely building here. Am curious to learn how this particular thursday turns out. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Donna Cummings May 6, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    I love this. There’s such an intriguing dynamic here, not to mention Meredith is wicked funny. (I’m still cackling about last week’s putdown. LOL) And thanks for the shout-out this week. I appreciate it!

    • movingforeword May 6, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      Thank you, Donna! And your six always warrant a shout-out 🙂

  9. Elin Gregory May 7, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    Nicely drawn. *sigh* I have a friend like that. When there are blokes about she just sparkles. 🙂

    • movingforeword May 7, 2012 at 9:18 am #

      I think we all know girls like that–but just know that someone probably thinks the same about you 🙂

Leave a Reply

