After the Big Release

16 May

Well, folks.  It is official: my debut novel, my first-born, the fruit of my labor, is now a living, breathing entity, set free into the unpredictable worlds of Smashwords and the Amazon Kindle bookstore.  For only $3.99 you can own your own eBook copy of The Mirrors at Barnard Hall. 

While the official release was an exhilarating event—coupled with the fact that it just happened to fall on the date of my birth—I can’t help but realize that the hard work is about to start.

Because I have chosen to self-publish, I am the sole driving force behind marketing my novel.  Where does one even begin?  Obviously, Facebook is a simple medium that has the potential to reach a decent number of readers.  This blog, too, is another tool that has been and will continue to be utilized.  I’m also planning on having posters and postcards printed with the cover and distributing those to every wall and flat surface I come across.  I’m going to be writing press releases for my local newspapers and doing book signings in June when the print versions become available.  WOM (word of mouth) marketing is also a HUGE opportunity assuming my readers enjoy the novel. 

But what else is out there in terms of marketing for one’s own book?  I’d love to hear some creative marketing techniques and avenues that you, my fellow authors and loyal readers, would suggest to someone in this precarious situation.

3 Responses to “After the Big Release”

  1. ameliaclaire92 May 17, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Congratulations!!! 🙂

    • movingforeword May 17, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

      Thank you so much! Are you getting excited for your trip? 🙂

      • ameliaclaire92 May 17, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

        Very much so! It feels so unreal right now. I can only imagine how it’s going to feel once I’m actually there!

Leave a Reply

