SSS: May 20th #sixsunday

19 May

Well, Sixers, May is winding down and I couldn’t have asked for a better month.  I celebrated my birthday this past week as well as the eBook release for my debut novel, The Mirrors at Barnard Hall , a love story laced with intrigue and enchantment (available on Smashwords and Kindle).  I hope each of you had equally exhilarating weeks.

Today’s six comes from my WIP entitled, Flight Risk.  It’s a story of second chances that takes place in Music City.  This particular snippet comes from Evelyn Ryan’s run-in with her boyfriend’s ex, Krystal King.

“Hello, Krystal,” I returned with a dismissive nod.  Even from a distance it was hard to miss the bleached-blonde with one-too-many boob jobs.  Krystal had been pretty back in her prime but now she looked plastic and too top-heavy to stay upright.

Will and Krystal had dated in high school—real quarterback and head cheerleader stuff.  Their senior year, he had been prom king and she had been crowned his queen—a fact that Krystal had “accidently” disclosed to me a number of times, mistaking my feigned curiosity for genuine interest.

The worst part of living in a small town where no one moved away was that no one moved away.

Interested in participating in Six Sentence Sunday?  It’s simple!  Go to the Six Sunday website, sign up, choose six sentences from a published work or WIP and post it next Sunday!

Here are a few of my favorites from 5/20: Charmaine Gordon (a shower six); Melissa MacKinnon (a steamy six); Sadie Hart (a light-hearted six); Siobhan Muir (an unexpected six); Ally Daniels (Mr. July’s six).

36 Responses to “SSS: May 20th #sixsunday”

  1. Wildcat's Wife May 20, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    Love that name, “Krystal King.” Sounds like a music star’s name, or a name indicating “bad boob job.” I love the snarky humor in this. And, I tried buying your book on iPad last week but I think only Kindle? I need to figure out how to buy stuff on my new Kindle. I’m a dork!

    • movingforeword May 20, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      Thank you! I’m full of snarky humor 😉 If you have a Kindle Fire there’s some trick you have to do to download the book via Smashwords… if you go to the “help” page on Smashwords it gives you step by step instructions! 🙂 Hope you enjoy it!

  2. Donna Cummings May 20, 2012 at 6:29 am #

    This made me laugh — especially the last line. I’m sure the prom king and queen was the highlight of Krystal’s life, so it HAS to be mentioned over and over. Fun six, as usual. 🙂

    • movingforeword May 20, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

      Thanks, Donna. Anyone who has lived in a small town can see the truth in the final line!

  3. Lisa Fox May 20, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    What a great introduction to the people and town!

  4. Paula Martin May 20, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    Great snarky six!

  5. Monica Enderle Pierce May 20, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    My, my, my snarky much? I love that she hates being trapped in a small town, yet there she remains. That’s an interesting little character insight, eh?

    • movingforeword May 20, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

      You’ve caught on quickly… 🙂 Perhaps she will escape!

  6. Kate Meader (@KittyMeader) May 20, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Yeah, that last line is a keeper – so true! Great six, and I love the tagline of your blog 🙂

    • movingforeword May 20, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

      Thank you, Kate! It took me a load of brainstorming to come up with it 🙂

  7. Ally Daniels May 20, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    I love, love, love that last line of your share. It’s so true about small towns (and one of the reasons I was so gung ho to go to an out-of-state school when I finished highs school).

    Also, thanks for the SSS love. 🙂

    • movingforeword May 20, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      Thanks, Ally! And you totally deserved the love. Gotta love small towns.

  8. Sadie Hart May 20, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    Great six. Made me laugh out loud with the one-too-many-boob job comment. For some people, high school really is the highlight of their life. Love the last line, wraps it all up with a nice shiny bow of truth. Some people I would love to see move away -eyes town- LOL

    • movingforeword May 20, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      Thanks so much, Sadie 🙂 Unfortunately, I think we all know those kinds of people.

  9. Sadie Hart May 20, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    Oh, wow! And thank you for the mention! Glad you liked it. 🙂 -totally missed it like a dork the first time around-

    • movingforeword May 20, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      hahaha no worries, Sadie! Loved your six as well (as you can tell)

  10. Jess Schira May 20, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    So true about the small towns. That, and the fact that they love to gossip. Very tightly written 6, Congrats on your release.

    • movingforeword May 20, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

      Thanks so much, Jess. And I’m thrilled about the release. A dream come true 🙂

  11. Elin Gregory May 20, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    Oh dear, the Krystal’s of the world can be so blighting.Nice six though. Possibilities of conflict.

    • movingforeword May 20, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

      Krystal’s certainly make the world an interesting place to live!

  12. siobhanmuir May 20, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    I loved the last line and it’s so true. lol Great six, Jenny!

    Thanks for the mention. 🙂

    • movingforeword May 20, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

      Of course, Siobhan… your six were def. worth mentioning 🙂

  13. Melynda Price May 20, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    The last line here is fantastic! Love this six 🙂

  14. Melissa MacKinnon May 20, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    Ooh, I loved your six! I love the title and the setting. Looking forward to reading more! Thank you so much for the mention – I’m so glad you liked it! 🙂

    • movingforeword May 20, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

      Thanks, Melissa! It was certainly fun to write–and even more fun to “research” 😉

  15. sueannbowlingauthor May 21, 2012 at 1:55 am #

    Krystal sounds like someone to avoid, all right.

  16. Author Charmaine Gordon May 21, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Hey Jenny, beautiful head shot and terrific six with a sense of humor.

    • movingforeword May 21, 2012 at 10:54 am #

      Thanks so much, Charmaine! I appreciate the kind words 🙂

  17. Jennifer Lowery May 21, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Love the ‘top-heavy’! Great description and six!

  18. sarahballance May 26, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Happy Release, and fantastic six! It’s positively dripping with humor. If the whole book reads like this, you have a definite winner! ;c)

    I’d also like to thank you for your wonderful comment on my blog last week. It was AMAZING. I’m sorry to get so slow in getting back to you – I’ve had computer issues and seem to be running around doing everything last minute and late. GAH! LOL. (((Thank you)))!

    • movingforeword May 27, 2012 at 7:31 am #

      No worries, Sarah! I appreciate the kind words and well-wishes. As for my comment, I spoke only the truth. Your sixes rock! 🙂

Leave a Reply

