Salvaging from the Wreckage

21 May

Most, if not all authors have written stories that were constructed to be the next “best-seller” but ended up with major plot holes and/or barely believable, even obnoxious characters.  I also dare to say that everyone has a manuscript that was regrettably submitted to agents long before it was ready.

In light of this, is there such a thing as an unsalvageable project? 

In my inexpert, perhaps naïve experience, I’d venture to say… No.

Before there is a mass uprising, let me clarify: I’m not saying that an author would be able to use every word written with only a few minor tweaks; however, I am a firm believer that there was a reason the story was written. 

There may be a character whose tale begs to be told, or some semblance of the storyline that can be revitalized.  If the writer was talented and dedicated enough to compose an entire manuscript based on the included ideas, then there has to be something salvageable

If you’re struggling to find inspiration for a new project, why not try to resurrect an old one?  Perhaps you’ll find a diamond in the rough—or some much-needed artistic stimulation.

2 Responses to “Salvaging from the Wreckage”

  1. Peggy Isaacs May 21, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    I am elbow deep in this very situation right now. Great post.

    • movingforeword May 21, 2012 at 9:38 am #

      Thanks, Peggy! Good luck. I’m thinking of resurrecting my first MS… looking back now it makes me cringe 🙂

Leave a Reply

