SSS: June 3 #sixsunday

2 Jun

Does anyone else find it hard to believe that the first Sunday in June has arrived?  It’s terrifying how quickly time passes when you get a bit older and don’t have summer vacation to look forward to.  On days like today, I doubt my decision to pursue a degree in business and find myself longing for the ten-month schedule of a school teacher.

Today’s six is a continuation of last week’s six, from my second book, Flight Risk:

After a ten-year absence, Evelyn Ryan returns to Nashville with her boyfriend, Will—who knows very little of Evelyn’s past.  During the visit, Evelyn is confronted by friends she once knew and the love she had abandoned.   

* * *

 “Well, would you look who found her way back to Nashville after all this time?” 

Her husky voice was exactly as I remembered, thick as Tennessee whiskey and just as dark. 

I turned to face my old friend, feeling mildly embarrassed that I had silently prayed for today to have been her day off—or that she had sold the place altogether. “Hey, Mags.”

“You say, ‘hey,’ to someone you barely know, like a creepy cousin who tried to tongue-kiss you at the family reunion.  Now, get over here and give me a hug, sugar!”

 * * *

I hope you enjoyed reading these as much as I enjoyed writing them!

Interested in participating in Six Sentence Sunday?  All you need to do is sign up and post six sentences from a WIP or published work!

Check out some of my favorites from 6/3: Lisa Fox (why-men-are-necessary six); Joyce Scarbrough (a powerful six); Rebecca Heflin (an over-thinking six); Ally Daniels (a Wine six); Laura Kaye (a pissed-off six); Tracina Shaw (an intense six)

Like my stuff?  My debut novel, The Mirrors at Barnard Hall, is now available digitally on: Amazon, GooglePlay and Smashwords.com

31 Responses to “SSS: June 3 #sixsunday”

  1. Donna Cummings June 2, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    LOL — I always love the sense of humor in your snippets. This is great, as usual. 🙂

    • movingforeword June 3, 2012 at 8:02 am #

      Thank you, Donna. Considering the quality of the six you always post, that’s a huge compliment!

  2. Wildcat's Wife June 3, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    Enjoyed reading and absolutely melted with your description of voice as thick as Tennessee Whiskey… Realized it was a woman. Now, feeling weird. Lol.

    • movingforeword June 3, 2012 at 8:03 am #

      Haha No need to feel weird. Mags is a character anyone can fall in love with 😉

  3. Kylie Scott June 3, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    I’m very curious to know what happens next. There’s great emotion and description in your 6. You have a wonderful voice!

  4. Layna June 3, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    Absolutely loved that last paragraph. Fab job on the description!

  5. tracinashaw June 3, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    “You say, ‘hey,’ to someone you barely know, like a creepy cousin who tried to tongue-kiss you at the family reunion. Now, get over here and give me a hug, sugar!”

    I am laughing at this because I can identify it. Having grown up in the “country”, I know many people who say awkward things like this all the time. I am related to most of them.

    Wonderful six.

    • movingforeword June 3, 2012 at 10:16 am #

      Thank you, Tracina! It sounds like our relatives might be related 😉

  6. Sadie Hart June 3, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    LOL Loved this: “You say, ‘hey,’ to someone you barely know, like a creepy cousin who tried to tongue-kiss you at the family reunion. Now, get over here and give me a hug, sugar!”

    Mags cracks me up. Love her voice. ^_^

  7. Lisa Fox June 3, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Lol! I will never think of the greeting ‘hey’ in the same way ever again.

    • movingforeword June 3, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

      hahaha Unless you happen to meet up with a certain creepy cousin, right? 😉

  8. Kate Meader (@KittyMeader) June 3, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    Oh, Mags sounds like a great character and there’s so much undercurrent here as well. Great six, Jenny!

    • movingforeword June 3, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

      Thank you, Kate! She’s an interesting person, alright 🙂

  9. Rebecca Heflin June 3, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    Thanks for including me in your faves list! Love the embarrassed-six. ( :

    • movingforeword June 3, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

      No problem, Rebecca! The deserved to be listed 🙂

  10. M.L. Falconer June 3, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    Hi Jenny,

    This is my first time visiting your blog and your descriptions have me hooked. A wonderful, impressive mix of description, dialogue and humor in that six. This scene it quite similar to one in my WIP and I love your take on it. I look forward to getting to know you as an author and learning more about your amazing writing.

    • movingforeword June 3, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

      Wow! Thanks so much, M.L.! It’s always great to hear that when people stop by for the first time, they like what they’re reading. 🙂

  11. Jennifer Lowery June 3, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Sexy and funny! Love it! Great six!

  12. Monica Enderle Pierce June 3, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    Hey, Jennifer. You’re lookin’ good. *insert a hug that’s a little too close and a little too long*
    (This makes me so grateful that I don’t have any creepy male cousins.)

  13. sueannbowlingauthor June 3, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    Yes, there’s a difference between city and country manners, and you’ve captured it very well

  14. sarahballance June 3, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    I love this! Great voice in a vivid six, and I LOVE the second line!

  15. Joyce Scarbrough June 4, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Is it wrong that I want to hear more about that creepy cousin? Sounds like folks around here fer shure! Loved these six and look forward to more.

    • movingforeword June 4, 2012 at 11:34 am #

      Thank, Joyce! If only I had expanded on said creepy cousin… maybe in Book 2? 🙂

  16. Elin Gregory June 4, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    Super six. Mags seems a lovely character.

Leave a Reply

