SSS: June 10 #sixsunday

9 Jun

Welcome, Sixers!  To celebrate the last day of CMAfest 2012, I’m posting another six from my second book, Flight Risk

After a ten-year absence, Evelyn Ryan returns to Nashville with her boyfriend, Will—who knows very little of Evelyn’s past.  During the visit, Evelyn is confronted by friends she once knew and the love she had abandoned.   

 * * *

“I’m sorry for leaving you high and dry,” I said, grimacing at my former boss.  In the end I had turned out no better than the faceless women who hadn’t lasted through their first week under Mags’ reign.

“The girl I found to replace you didn’t even make it past the second shift!”

“That’s probably because you threw her to the wolves.”

“I prefer to call it on the job training,” Mags explained with a wicked smile.

My on the job training at the bar had involved two slaps on the butt, one drink-to-the-face, three hundred in tips, and too many broken glasses to even attempt to count.

* * *

Interested in participating in Six Sentence Sunday?  All you need to do is sign up and post six sentences from a WIP or published work!

12 Responses to “SSS: June 10 #sixsunday”

  1. Wildcat's Wife June 9, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    She’s too nice apologizing to her former boss. And, that’s some on the job training she received. Wow. She better not go back. haha!!!

  2. Lisa Fox June 10, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    That sounds like quite a night at work! Oh my.

  3. Donna Cummings June 10, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    It’s a wonder anybody lasts. LOL Great six, as usual. I always love reading your sentences. 🙂

    • movingforeword June 10, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

      Thanks, Donna! I figure the $300 in tips would help keep at least a few hard workers around 😉

  4. Kate Meader (@KittyMeader) June 10, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    Killer close here, Jenny! Love how you economically encapsulate that moment in time. And the title of your book rocks, btw.

    • movingforeword June 10, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

      Thanks so much, Kate! 🙂 Titles aren’t my favorite thing to come up with but this one came easily!

  5. Monica Enderle Pierce June 10, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    $300 in tips? That’s good money! (What? I’m just being practical.) Her guilt shows a lot about her character. Nice six, Jenny.

    • movingforeword June 10, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      I know, right? I’m just as practical because I’m thinking of all the bills I could pay with that sort of income 😉

  6. D'Ann Lindun June 10, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    Nice job! Reminds me a bit of that movie, Coyote Ugly.

Leave a comment