A Heavy Left Hand

17 Jun


– December 2005       &     June 13, 2012 –

Since last Wednesday I’ve been attempting to tactfully broach the topic of today’s post.  After days of pondering, I’ve decided to come right out and say it:

I’M ENGAGED!

My fiancée keeps asking me when I’m going to write our love story.  I’ve put him off by telling him it’s a WIP (work-in-progress); however, seeing as we’re celebrating our engagement, I think it would be a good idea to appease him and let you read what I have so far:

* * *

I met Jimmy in 2005 while studying abroad in Limerick, Ireland.  His band was playing at a bar called “The Precinct” just on the edge of the city [What can I say?  Musicians are my kryptonite].  I remember thinking, “he’s really hot AND he has a sweet accent.” [A flowery description, I know]

I dragged the roommate and our friend from Holland to see his band play whenever they were in town. [He’d use the term “stalker” but I prefer “fan”]

From October 2005-January 2006 Jimmy and I spent every spare moment together.

Unfortunately, my mother wasn’t keen on me quitting school just one semester shy of graduation so our whirlwind romance was cut short by my return to the USA.  I left that rainy day in January 2006 convinced that I would never see Jimmy again.

Much to my surprise, Jimmy hopped on a plane in February to come see me.

Five and a half years later–and over 25 trips across the Atlantic between us [we’re both convinced that we are the sole reason that Aer Lingus is still in business]–the distance finally took its toll.

For 2011, Jimmy and I went our separate ways.

The funny thing is, in searching for ourselves as individuals, our paths, mine in Nashville and his in Ireland, ended up leading us back to one another.

Last Wednesday, June 13, 2012, Jimmy asked me to be his wife.

I said yes.

* * *

And that’s our story… so far.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Now it’s time for an unabashed plug for my debut novel, The Mirrors at Barnard Hall.  You can buy it ONLINE for $3.99 or start reading HERE for free!  🙂

10 Responses to “A Heavy Left Hand”

  1. Elin Gregory June 18, 2012 at 12:54 am #

    Lovely story. 🙂 congratulations to you both. *hugs*

    • movingforeword June 18, 2012 at 2:11 am #

      Thanks so much, Elin! We’re both very excited. :):)

  2. ruthgriffin June 18, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    Gotta love a guy with an accent. Congratulations! I wish you the best.

  3. Rachel June 18, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    aaahhh!!! I’m so glad you finally posted it!!! CONGRATS!!!!!!!!! I’m so so so excited for you girl! I love it!

  4. Peggy Isaacs June 18, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    What a beautiful story! Congratulations!

    • movingforeword June 18, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

      Thanks so much, Peggy! We certainly think it’s romantic anyway haha

  5. Donna Cummings June 23, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    How did I miss this news?! Congratulations. I’m thrilled for both of you. 🙂

    • movingforeword June 23, 2012 at 9:24 am #

      Thank you, Donna! It’s been quite an exciting couple of weeks 🙂

Leave a Reply

