Six Sentence Sunday: June 24 #sixsunday

23 Jun

I’d like to take a moment to thank everyone for stopping by on a weekly basis and to welcome those of you who might be visiting for the first time!  As a side note:  The PRINT COPY of my debut novel, The Mirrors at Barnard Hall, is NOW AVAILABLE on CreateSpace and will be coming soon to the AMAZON bookstore 🙂

Once again, this week’s snippet comes from my second book, Flight Risk.  This scene is taken from Evelyn Ryan’s inconvenient reunion with her old flame, country music artist Jaxon Lee.

Synopsis: After a ten-year absence, Evelyn Ryan returns to Nashville with her boyfriend, Will—who knows very little of Evelyn’s past.  During the visit, Evelyn is confronted by friends she once knew and the love she had abandoned.   

 * * *

“You look exhausted, Jaxon.”  The man’s head was already too big; he didn’t need to hear that being near him again made it impossible for me to think coherently.  “Not sleeping very well?”

“If you’d remember, I do some of my best work at night,” Jaxon said, offering me a knowing grin.

“I don’t know what you’re talking about,” I lied, steeling myself against his probing gaze.

“Your eyes tell a different story, Evie.”

 * * *

Interested in participating in Six Sentence Sunday?  All you need to do is sign up and post six sentences from a WIP or published work!

 

28 Responses to “Six Sentence Sunday: June 24 #sixsunday”

  1. Kylie Scott June 24, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    That’s a nice tense lovers reunion. And I love how cocky he is.

    • movingforeword June 24, 2012 at 6:42 am #

      Thanks, Kylie! I think that’s part of his “charm”

  2. Christina Jean Michaels June 24, 2012 at 2:44 am #

    I second that! Cockiness can be a major turn-off. That soooo isn’t the case here. I also liked how he mentioned doing his best work at night, lol. Talk about double meaning. 🙂

    • movingforeword June 24, 2012 at 6:44 am #

      Thanks, Christina! He certainly loves to push her buttons *wink wink*

  3. Alix Cameron June 24, 2012 at 6:55 am #

    Great six!

  4. Donna Cummings June 24, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    He’s such a troublemaker! LOL I know I’m gonna love him. Nice six, as usual. 🙂

  5. Lisa Fox June 24, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    They sounds like they have quite a relationship!

  6. S. J. Maylee June 24, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    He’s not going to let her get away with anything. Oh the dangers of past loves. i like him. Fun 6.

  7. Joyce Scarbrough June 24, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    It’s not being cocky when it’s true. 😉 Love this exchange!

  8. Cara Bristol June 24, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    How well he knows her.

  9. Elin Gregory June 24, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    That’s cheeky. Especially if Will is with her. I’m not sure whether to admire his self assurance or give him a smack.

  10. Wildcat's Wife June 24, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    Jaxon’s line is priceless! And, maybe a double entendre working there? Love it. Love it. Lots of egos playing in this snippet. Good job!

  11. sueannbowlingauthor June 24, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    Double entendre at least.

  12. siobhanmuir June 24, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    It’s never good to lie to yourself or others, especially others who know you. lol Great six, Jenny. I love how he calls her out. 😀

    • movingforeword June 24, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

      Thanks, Siobhan. She’s about to learn that very lesson the hard way 😉

  13. samantha June 24, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    I agree, good work. I like how you reveal how important it is to be honest with others you are close to. I never goes good for anyone who keeps secrets from those who care most about you.

    • movingforeword June 24, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

      I couldn’t have said it better myself, Samantha 🙂

  14. sarahballance July 8, 2012 at 12:03 am #

    I *love* this exchange! What a great read!

Leave a Reply

