Six Sentence Sunday: July 1, 2012 #sixsunday

30 Jun

In honor of the official release of my debut novel, The Mirrors at Barnard Hall, my six this week is from that very book.  This scene comes from the first time Callista Franklyn sees a handsome stranger inside of her antique mirror. 

{Synopsis: Callista Franklyn’s return to her family’s mansion in the English countryside stirs up more than memories of ghostly childhood friends when she discovers the very real, and very handsome, Nick Dalton in the reflection of her antique mirror.

The problem? Beyond the fact that he appears to reside in a mirror, historical records say Nick died in 1902.

Callista is intrigued by Nick’s claim that the year is 1902, so she investigates and uncovers a timeline of suspicious crimes and enchanted mirrors that connect her to the twentieth century. She also realizes that she’s falling for Nick, who is condemned to be murdered in August.

As the date of Nick’s impending death approaches, Callista must decide if she’s willing to risk changing history and erasing her place in the modern world in order to prevent the tragic crime and save the man she loves.}

 * * *

“You are not real,” I whispered toward the mirror, inwardly chanting the statement and willing the rest of me to believe the message. 

I would wake up soon—I had to.  And as soon as I woke up I was checking into a hotel… or mental hospital.

“So says the illusion.  I assure you, madam, I am more real than you shall ever be,” he shot back.

 This could not be happening; I was talking to myself, not a man inside of my mirror.

 

* * *

Intrigued?  The Mirrors at Barnard Hall is available on CreateSpace and Amazon (print for ONLY $9.99) and Amazon Kindle, Smashwords and Google Books (for only $2.99)!  Or you can start reading it HERE for FREE!!!!

 ____________________________________________________________________________________________

Interested in participating in Six Sentence Sunday?  Sign up on the website and post six sentences next Sunday!  Check out some of the other FAB Authors HERE

(Side note:  I’m driving back to Nashville from WV so I won’t be able to respond to your comments until Monday; however, I WILL respond :).  Thanks for stopping by!)

17 Responses to “Six Sentence Sunday: July 1, 2012 #sixsunday”

  1. Maryellen Brady June 30, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    his sounds like so much fun! A sort of time travel novel and very magical 🙂

    • movingforeword July 1, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      Exactly, Mary Ellen! Thanks so much for shopping by and commenting 🙂

  2. Joyce Scarbrough July 1, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    So many questions arise from these six, but I guess that’s kinda what you intended, huh? I’ll definitely have to assuage my curiosity with the book. 😉

    • movingforeword July 1, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

      You’ve figured out my evil plan, Joyce! 🙂 I’m just luring you all in 😉

  3. Kate Meader (@KittyMeader) July 1, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    Congrats on the release, Jenny! Such an intriguing set up and I love his snippy reply. Great six!

    • movingforeword July 1, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      Thanks so much, Kate! It has been an exciting week, indeed!

  4. S. J. Maylee July 1, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    Congrats on the release!! Loved the blurb!! very intriguing…and the 6 was most excellent. Love the dialogue, more real than you shall ever be, nice I’m off to click
    hope you are having an easy drive today!!

    • movingforeword July 1, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

      Thank you, SJ! And the drive has gone well until hitting post-accident traffic about 20 miles outside of Nashville… Oh well, gives me time to reply! 🙂

      • S. J. Maylee July 1, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

        oh, man, that stinks. Hope it clears up soon.

  5. Monica Enderle Pierce July 1, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    I love that he challenges her. You give us a wonderful glimpse (ha, pun intended) into his character and place him in another time with just this little bit of dialogue. Nice!

    This is a fascinating idea for a book. (Been meaning to tell you that…)

  6. Donna Cummings July 1, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    This is a totally fascinating premise, and I’m excited to read the whole thing. Heck, I love all the stuff you post — I know this is going to be great too. 🙂

    • movingforeword July 2, 2012 at 8:33 am #

      Thank you so much, Donna! Your kind words certainly help to bolster my confidence as a writer 🙂

  7. Elin Gregory July 2, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    Excellent news, Jenny. Congratulations! And I really like this excerpt. I think she’s very sensible to doubt her senses.

    • movingforeword July 3, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

      Thank you, Elin! I’m very excited. And you’re right, she’s in a situation that doesn’t happen every day (unfortunately… :))

  8. sarahballance July 8, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    This is intriguing. I love the six *and* the synopsis!

Leave a Reply

