My First Attempt

6 Jul

I know what you’re thinking: If I have to hear any more about Jenny’s debut novel, I’m going to unsubscribe to her vapid blog and unfollow her self-absorbed tweets.

Before taking such rash measures, I urge you to hear me out.  Most of you will be surprised to learn The Mirrors at Barnard Hall is actually the second book I wrote. 

The first, written in the early months of 2009, was entitled, Now a Major Motion Picture. 

This post isn’t going to rave about the brilliance contained within the pages of that work.  As a matter of fact, my feelings toward that particular manuscript are the exact opposite: it was—and still is—atrociousAs a writer, I am ashamed to say that I had a hand in that fifty-thousand-word massacre on the English language. 

Of course, I haven’t always felt that way about my virginal venture into the world of writing.  While penning the tale I distinctly remember giggling at my use of wit and thinking the final product was destined to be on every bookshelf in the continental US.

Then, while cleaning out my closet a few weeks ago, I uncovered the orange binder that held my first story.  It had been years since I had read it and, being the optimist I am, I thought perhaps there was some salvageable idea/plot/character that could be utilized in a different, better story.  Instead, I found poor writing littered with grammatical errors, a flimsy, B-rated plot and shallow, annoying characters exchanging an excess of snarky comments.

To make matters more appalling, I’d had the gall to submit said MS to an actual publisher in 2009, obviously delusional in thinking the story deserved an audience.

I’ve read a number of blog posts from other authors that contain similar horror stories, so I know I’m not alone in this. 

The moral of my Friday-post is this: Your first book (or second, or third, or… you get the point) may not be a New York Time’s Best Seller. 

But the next one could be. 

Don’t give up in a fit of frustration.  Keep moving forward.

-Jenny

Leave a Reply

