Be Inspired

11 Jul

What inspires you to write?

-Something you wish you had the nerve to say to an ex?
-A handsome stranger you saw walking the opposite direction on Broadway?
-Your own romantic love story?
-A hilarious exchange with your best friend?
-Reading the work of your favorite authors?
-An internal fire set by an arsonistic-dream that burns until you can extinguish it with your pen?

Undoubtedly, what we consider inspirational is as individualized as our DNA.  One could also argue that every story, even if written by the same author, has separate and distinct inspiration from its predecessor. 

Life experiences-real or imagined-inspire authors to write.

But what about when an author feels wholly uninspired? Life doesn’t stop but instead becomes interference for one’s passion.

That’s where I am. 

In speaking with my fiancée yesterday, I received some surprisingly good advice:  Jenny Hickman can’t do it all.  At first I argued, but then I realized he may be right [for once].  Something has to give.

Before July 11, 2012, I’ve attempted to: 

-Work full time
-Enjoy the plethora of activities that summertime-Nashville has to offer 
-Visit with my family as much as possible in preparation for my move to Ireland
-Write at least four compelling blog-posts per week
-Conjure ideas for the next NYT Best Seller
-Edit multiple WIP’s
-Promote my first book, The Mirrors at Barnard Hall
-S
chedule multiple book signings
-Implement operation “hot-body bride”
-And plan a wedding for November 2nd

While I should be enjoying the lone task on the aforementioned list of duties that will occur only one time in my lifetime, wedding planning is being lost in the shuffle, causing unnecessary stress.   

Instead of allowing myself to succumb to that stress, I have decided to let a few of the items wane until November 9, 2012 (one week after my wedding).

So here’s my  revised list for the next four months:

-Work full time (until September 7th)
-Write at least four compelling blog-posts per week Continue SSS and write blog posts when compelled
Conjure ideas for the next NYT Best Seller
Edit multiple WIP’s
-Enjoy the plethora of activities that summertime-Nashville has to offer 
-Promote my first book, The Mirrors at Barnard Hall
Schedule multiple book signings
-Implement operation “hot-body bride”
-Visit with my family as much as possible
-And enjoy planning a wedding

In hindsight, perhaps a more appropriate title for today’s post would be: BE INSPIRED… TO LET GO.

Leave a Reply

