Eternal Editor

18 Jul

The other day I picked up my first book, The Mirrors at Barnard Hall, intent on tuning out my frantic wedding plans, getting lost in the story, and relishing the sense of accomplishment those words gave me.  Two chapters into the endeavor, my mind was so caught up in re-phrasing sentences and making minor tweaks to each page that the story lost its flow and cohesiveness.  I had to fight off the urge to grab a red pen from my desk drawer in order to apply the changes. 

For those of you who are seasoned authors, I pose this question to you:  Is it possible to read your own work and truly appreciate the story for what it has become? Or does the Eternal Editor that lives inside plague you every time you browse pages from one of your titles?

Leave a Reply

