Six Sentence Sunday: August 5, 2012 #sixsunday

4 Aug

Is anyone else in denial over August’s abrupt arrival?!  I had to check my calendar twice on Wednesday just to make sure I wasn’t seeing things. 

Speaking of seeing things… this week I’m posting another six from my debut novel, The Mirrors at Barnard Hall.  This scene is a continuation of last week’s six from the first time Callista Franklyn sees a handsome stranger inside of her antique mirror.

 * * *

“Well, if you don’t exist and I don’t exist, then this entire conversation is futile,” I said.  What would be the sense in fighting over a moot point?

“Then we agree that neither of us exists?”    

“Yes.  Now, if you have no objections, I’m going to sleep.”

“Considering I am not here, you hardly need my permission,” he shot back.

 * * *

Ah, the delightful impasse! Would you like to read more from The Mirrors at Barnard Hall?  You can buy a print copy for $9.99 or eBook version for $2.99.  Don’t want to spend the cash?  You’re in luck: Start reading it HERE for FREE!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Interested in participating in Six Sentence Sunday?  Sign up on the website and post six sentences next Sunday.

Check out some of the other phenomenal authors HERE

19 Responses to “Six Sentence Sunday: August 5, 2012 #sixsunday”

  1. Carrie Crain August 5, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    These two are adorable. Enjoying the bickering and what their underlying frustrations may be!

    • movingforeword August 5, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      Thank you, Carrie. I’m in love with them myself 🙂

  2. Monica Enderle Pierce August 5, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Right, like she’s really going to sleep. ;D

  3. Joyce Scarbrough August 5, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    A smartass after my own heart! 😉 Great six!

  4. S. J. Maylee August 5, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Love his last line. It cracked me up, but I’m wondering how she took it.

    • movingforeword August 6, 2012 at 9:35 am #

      haha She actually took it pretty well, all things considered 🙂

  5. Elin Gregory August 5, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    Where has this year gone?

    Love this story. They are going to have to come to an accommodation or she’ll never get any sleep.

    • movingforeword August 6, 2012 at 9:36 am #

      Thanks, Elin! And I have a feeling that summer will be gone before we know it 😦

  6. C. C. Marks August 5, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    What great banter between these two characters. Great six!

  7. gzidar August 5, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    I like the dialog, her frustration is well done and his comeback is witty. I know what you mean about the year flying by. August already? There’ll be christmas decorations up in the shops before we know it.

    • movingforeword August 6, 2012 at 9:37 am #

      Thank you, I do love a witty retort.
      Christmas decorations??? NOOOO!!! 🙂 Not that I dislike the season, but I could do without the chilly weather.

  8. sueannbowlingauthor August 5, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    I have to laugh at this. Good dialogue.

    • movingforeword August 6, 2012 at 9:38 am #

      Thank you, Sue Ann. Their back-and-forths were a delight to write.

  9. Donna Cummings August 5, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    I love these two — banter is always my favorite and they’ve got a lot of fun exchanges. I’m in denial about it being August. Maybe we can say it’s LAST August, so it doesn’t feel like so much time has gone by. LOL

  10. sarahballance August 12, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    OMGosh, this sounds JUST like a conversation I’d have with my husband, LOL! We throw good-natured shots all the time. Love this!

Leave a Reply

