What do you do?

9 Oct

This past weekend someone asked me what I did for a living.  For so long I’ve been in the habit of saying I work in advertising that the generic explanation nearly spewed forth.  Then I decided to update my story and tell the woman I was a writer.  Being that we were in Nashville, the term writer had a very different meaning than anywhere else in the world.

Understandably misguided, she nodded and asked what type of songs I wrote.  Then I had to amend my statement and use precious time explaining that I write mediocre books and not hit songs.

Needless to say, the exchange took much longer than I had originally anticipated.

From this point forward, when someone asks me what I do, I’m going to eliminate confusion and say I’m an AUTHOR.

SIDE NOTE: Make sure you swing by on Friday morning for Chapter 2 from Semester of Thursdays.

Leave a Reply

